Tag Archives: First semi-final

Estonia: Six acts qualify from 2020 Eesti Laul (first semi-final)

Flag of Estonia
Flag of Estonia

The 2o20 Eesti Laul national selection (first semi-final) has got underway in Estonia. Six acts qualified for the final –

  • Anett x Fredi
  • Egert Milder
  • Laura
  • Rasmus Rändvee
  • Synne Valtri feat. Väliharf

Let us take a look at one of the acts that qualified – Anett x Fredi below.

Source: ESC Covers; Eurovision.tv

Lithuania: First semi-final of Pabandom iš naujo! – Four acts make it to the final!

Lithuania flag
Lithuania flag

Four acts have qualified for the grand final of the 2020 Pabandom iš naujo! national selection in Lithuania.

The first semi-final took place and the acts to make it were –

  • KaYra – Alligator
  • Rūta Loop We Came From Sun
  • The Roop On Fire
  • Aistė PilvelytėUnbreakable

You can see the four qualifiers below.

Source: ESC Covers; Eurovision.tv

Sweden: Robin Bengtsson and The Mamas make it to the final of 2020 Melodifestivalen


The first semi-final of the 2020 Melodifestivalen took place in Sweden in Linköping. Two acts made it to the final and two acts go to the second chance Andra Chansen selection later this month.

The two acts to qualify were –

  • Robin BengtssonTake A Chance
  • The MamasMove

The two acts for Andra Chansen –

  • Malou PrytzBallerina
  • Felix SandmanBoys With Emotions

Source: ESC Covers



2019 Eurovision Song Contest logo
2019 Eurovision Song Contest logo

Here are the predictions of the ESC Covers team for the first semi-final of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest.

ROY           IAN      COLE

CYPRUS                                             Y                Y            Y

MONTENEGRO                                  N               N           Y

FINLAND                                         N                Y           Y

POLAND                                          N                Y           Y

SLOVENIA                                      N                N           N

CZECH REPUBLIC                         Y                Y           Y

HUNGARY                                      N               N           N

BELARUS                                       Y                Y           Y

SERBIA                                           Y               N           Y

BELGIUM                                      Y               N           N

GEORGIA                                      N              Y            N

AUSTRALIA                                  Y              Y            Y

ICELAND                                      Y              Y            N

ESTONIA                                      Y              N            N

PORTUGAL                                 N             N             N

GREECE                                       Y             Y             Y

SAN MARINO                             Y             Y             Y

The bookmakers predict the seven countries not to make it will be : Poland, Portugal, Georgia, Belarus, San Mariino, Finland, Montenegro

VIDBIR 2019 (Ukraine National Selection): The results of the first semi-final

VIDBIR 2019 Judges
VIDBIR 2019 Judges
The first semi-final of VIDBIR (Ukraine national selection) 2019 took place this evening. The results of the first semi-final have seen eight participants take part but only three of them progressed to the final –
  •  MARUV
  • Brunettes Shoot Blondes
  • YUKO
The above acts qualified for the Grand Final which will be held on 23 February. The results were determined by a combination of televoting and the opinion of jury which consisted of Jamala (Eurovision 2016 winner), Andrey Danilko (known as Verka Serduchka, silver winner of the Eurovision 2007) and Evgeniy Filatov (producer and composer).
The second semi-final will be held next Saturday on 16 February and it will have the same format with eight new participants and only three finalists to progress.
Six finalists will take part in the Grand Final but only one will represent Ukraine in May in Tel Aviv (Israel).
You can see the three qualifiers from this evening below.
Sources: ESCCOVERS, Eliana Goncharova, Ian Fowell, STB, UA:Pershiy

Armenia: 2018 Depi Mankakan Evratesil Junior selection – five acts qualify in first semi-final

The five acts to the final from first Depi Mankakan Evratesil semi-final
The five acts to the final from first Depi Mankakan Evratesil semi-final

The first semi-final of the 2018 Depi Mankakan Evratesil (Junior Eurovision national selection) took place in Armenia with five acts making it through to the grand final.

Dalita & Mika
Dalita & Mika

Dalita Avanessian and Mika Varosyan were the presenters of the show. They sang a duet at the beginning. Dalita represented Armenia at the 2011 Junior Eurovision Song Contest with the Welcome To Armenia. She is a top recording artist and tv personality and recently released a duet of Heroes (the 2015 Eurovision winning song of Sweden) with Sergey Sysuev from Ukraine in a joint combination of Armenian, Ukrainian and English languages.

11 acts competed in the first semi-final and they were –

1. Anna1 2 3 4

2. Arpi Par

3. Nare Elizbaryan Du karogh es

4. GorXWhy Don’t?

5. Vardan MargaryanChanaparh

6. 1+1Misht miasin

7. ElizaIm Yerazank

8. ANI – Angels

9. Maria Petrosyan Happy Birthday

10. L.E.V.O.NL.E.V.O.N

11. Lia Kamats-Kamats

Voting was a combination of jury and televoting.

The five acts to qualify for the final are –

  • ANI
  • Vardan Margaryan
  • L.E.V.O.N
  • Lia
  • Maria Petrosyan

The second semi-final will take place on Sunday 16 September.

You can hear the five qualifiers perform below.

Source: ESC Covers