Tag Archives: Cyprus

Elena Tsagrinou to represent Cyprus at the 2021 Eurovision with ‘El Diablo’


Elena Tsagrinou has been chosen to represent Cyprus at the 2021 Eurovision Song Contest. The song she will perform will be El Diablo (The Devil) which will be revealed at a later date.

Elena is a very popular and much respected singer in the Greek music scene. She is 26 years old and first came in to the spotlight in 2008, at 14 years, when she was a popular contestant in ‘Greece Got Talent’, where she got to the semi-finals.

In 2013 Elene joined the OtherView group, and they had many hit songs. Then in 2018 she began her solo recording career and has had many hit songs and music videos and performed in concerts and shows in Greece and Cyprus.

Elena is also a successful personality where she has been a coach on the ‘Just The 2 Of Us’ music show, she has been a presenter on ‘The Voice of Greece’ and recently has been presenting her own show ‘K-Pop Stars’ on MAD TV in Greece and Cyprus.

The song that Elena will sing at Eurovision 2021 is El Diablo. It is composed by successful songwriters, Jimmy “Joker” Thornfeldt (Swedish music producer and writer for worldwide artists like Jennifer Lopez, Enrique Iglesias, Pitbull, Usher and Nicki Minaj), Laurell Barker (Canadian songwriter who composed the 2019 ESC Swiss entry She Got Me by Luca Hänni and had KPop success with Twice, Oh My Girl and Girls Generation and Swedish hits including for Hanna Ferm), Oxa (Brazilian born singer, songwriter and dancer and took part in many musicals as well as The Voice of Germany in 2019)  and Thomas Stengaard (Award winning Danish songwriter/producer who wrote the Denmark ESC winning song for Emmelie de Forrest, Only Teardrops, in 2013. He was also one of the writers of the German 2018 ESC song by You Let Me Walk Alone by Michael Schulte).

You can see the music videos of Lógia (from 2019) and Amore (2020) by Elena Tsagrinou below.

Source: Panik Records; RIK, ESC Covers




Eleni Foureira releases new single ‘Light It Up’


Eleni Foureira has released her brand new song entitled Light It Up. It is an upbeat pop dance song with an retro 80s feel.

Light It Up is composed by Eleni Foureira, Michael Tsaousopoulos and Andy Nicolas. The production is Arcade Music.

Eleni represented Cyprus at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest with Fuego.

You can see the official music video for Light It Up below. The track is available to purchase or stream via most digital stores.

Source: ESC Covers

Tamta releases ‘Hold On’ music video from new EP – ‘Awake’


Tamta has released an EP entitled ‘Awake’ featuring seven songs.  For the track Hold On she has released an official music video. It is a positive and upbeat song with some ethnic overtones.

You can buy or stream ‘Awake’ via this link https://tamta.lnk.to/AwakeID . The tracks on the EP are –

  • Awake
  • Hold On
  • Yala
  • Sex With Your Ex
  • On The Run
  • My Zone
  • Silence

Hold On is composed by Barrice, Sin Laurent and Daphne Lawrence. The production is by Boombamontana and mixed by Beyond. It was mastered by Beyond Studio: Final Sound.

Tamta represented Cyprus at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest with Replay.

You can see the official video clip for Hold On below.

Source: ESC Covers

Hovig releases new song ‘O Íroas Sou’

Hovig from the music video of 'O Íroas Sou'
Hovig from the music video of ‘O Íroas Sou’

Hovig is back with a brand new song entitled O Íroas Sou (Your hero). It is an ethnic Greek style ballad pop song.

O Íroas Sou is composed by Hovig, George Vaxavanelis and Grigoris Vaxavanelis.

Hovig represented Cyprus at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest with Gravity.

You can see the official music video for O Íroas Sou below.

Source: ESC Covers

Listen: Dimitris Kontopoulos: Inis Neziri & Sandro and their acoustic cover of ‘Hold Me’

Dimitris Kontopoulos : Inis Neziri & Sandro
Dimitris Kontopoulos : Inis Neziri & Sandro

Dimitris Kontopoulos: Inis Neziri & Sandro performed a very beautiful acoustic cover version of the song Hold Me as part of special quarantine sessions held by Dimitris.

Hold Me was a composition of Dimitris that finished second at the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest for Farid Mammadov representing Azerbaijan.

Dimitris is a very successful composer from Greece and is part of the ‘dream team’ who works with Philipp Kirkorov from Russia. They have had many successful Eurovision songs such as Shady Lady (2008 Ani Lorak– Ukraine), This Is The Night (2009  Sakis Rouvas – Greece), Shine (2014 Tolmachevy Sisters – Russia) and You’re The Only One (2016 Sergey Lazarev – Russia).

Inis Neziri is the beautiful and talented singer from Albania, who won the 2018 Cerbul de Aur – Golden Stag festival in Romania and the prestigious 2019 New Wave festival in Russia. She also had the popular song Piedestal in the Festivali i Këngës #56 in Albania.

Sandro was selected for the 2020 Eurovision for Cyprus with his song Running. He took part in The Voice of Germany in 2018 and finished fifth at the New Wave festival in Russia, where he was representing the USA.

You can see the charming interpretation of Hold Me below.

Source: ESC Covers

Sandro Nicolas will represent Cyprus at the 2020 Eurovision Song Contest

Sandro Nicolas @sandromusic_official
Sandro Nicolas @sandromusic_official

Sandro Nicolas has been chosen internally by the broadcaster CyBC to represent Cyprus at the 2020 Eurovision Song Contest in Rotterdam next May.

Sandro was born in Germany and has an American father and Greek mother. He was a popular contestant on The Voice Of Germany.

Sandro also represented USA at the New Wave festival in Russia earlier this year.

The song for Sandro will be revealed in the coming months.

You can see Sandro perform at the New Wave below.

Source: ESC Covers

Vasya & Nina Boykova cover ‘Fuego’ in Russian

Vasya & Nina Boykova from the video clip of 'Fuego'
Vasya & Nina Boykova from the video clip of ‘Fuego’

Vasya & Nina Boykova have recorded a Russian version of Fuego by Eleni Foureira (2018 ESC Cyprus).

Vasya and Nina are from Ukraine and they deliver a high quality version of the song that finished in second place at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest. The music video is full of energy and fun with Vasya and Nina dancing with boys and girls.

The author of the Russian lyrics is Alexander Leonenko.

Check out Vasya & Nina Boykova’s official YouTube channel here https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgA7SmrMK956h392FpUFD0Q 

You can see the music video for Fuego by Vasya & Nina below.

Source: ESC Covers; facebook.com/eurovision.ua