Category Archives: 1981 Eurovision Song Contest

LEILA – SEID MEMIC-VAJTA (Yugoslavia 1981)

A few days ago we finished with our Top 100 which were compiled from the top 10’s of 103 people. Now for about 2 weeks, Roy of ESC Covers will do his top 20 of Eurovision songs he would have liked in the top 100 but they did not make it.

On a side note, a big thank you to Carolina of Peru who drew the beautiful Johannesburg Eurofriend,  which we use as the featured image.

Continue reading LEILA – SEID MEMIC-VAJTA (Yugoslavia 1981)


The 9th song in our series, where we highlight Eurovision artists/stars covering NON EUROVISION songs. Today we have PETER SUE & MARC, who represented SWITZERLAND a record 4 times at the Eurovision song contest (1971, 1976, 1979 and 1981) and each time in another language (French, English, German and Italian), with a cover of a Bob Dylan song BLOWING IN THE WIND. Peter Sue & Marc recorded it in English.



LINDA WILLIAMS represented THE NETHERLANDS at the 1981 Eurovision song contest with the song HET IS EEN WONDER. She has covered a NON EUROVISION song which was a big hit for NANA MOUSOURI, who herself participated in the 1963 Eurovision song contest for Luxembourg. The song Linda has covered is LA PROVANCE  which Ralph Siegel composed and Bernd Meinunger wrote the German lyrics. Linda’s cover is called IN DE LENTE. It is the 7th song in our series.


Starting today ESC Covers will focus on one song a day by a Eurovision  artist or group which is a cover of a NON EUROVISION song.  We will continue until 28 February.

Today’s first song is FINN KALVIK. He represented NORWAY at the 1981 Eurovision song contest with ALDRI I LIVET and ended in a shocking last place with zero points. His cover is of the song STREETS OF LONDON of Ralph McTell.

The Fizz and ‘T.O.T.P.’ single and video clip

The Fizz @Copyright (C) 2020 Modal Production Group Ltd
The Fizz @Copyright (C) 2020 Modal Production Group Ltd

The Fizz have released a brand new single and music video for the song T.O.T.P. It is a fun and upbeat retro style song based on the famous BBC tv show Top Of The Pops.

T.O.T.P.  is taken from the their new album ‘Smoke & Mirrors’.

The Fizz are a spin off of Bucks Fizz, who of course, won the 1981 Eurovision Song Contest for the United Kingdom with Making Your Mind Up. The band now consists of original members Cheryl Baker, Mike Nolan and Jay Aston.

You can see the video clip for T.O.T.P. below.

Source: ESC Covers