The first AFRI VISIE song contest is in its final stages. last night the top 10 were announced which will battle it out in a live TV final this coming weekend. AFRI VISIE is based on the Eurovision song contest and the winner is the composer and not the performer.

The top 10 were announced in random order

01 – LANG PAD NA LATER (long road to later)

Composer -Anotnie de Jager, Performer – Laudo Liebenberg

(Both unknown to me)

02 – SING MY AAN DIE SLAAP (sing me to sleep)

Composers and performers – Carle van Deventer & Joe Foster

(Carle has written lyrics for euro songs before, among them one of Slovenia)

03 – REEN (rain)

Composer and performer – Gera Phielix

(Totally unknown)

04 – VERLANGEBAAN (desire road)

Composer and performer – Heidi van Wyk

(She is an OGAE ROW member and covered a song from Armenia before Qele qele)

05 – EK SWEET (I swear)

Composer – Herman Kleinhans, Performer – Twee

(Both are unknown but Twee means TWO so it is a duet)

06 – DIE IDEE WAT TEL (it is the idea that counts)

Composers – Hugo Ludik & Reynhardt Hugo, Performer – Adam

(The composers are 2 of the 3 members of the boy group ADAM who is quite popular and recently had a CD that went gold. Hugo’s brother Stefan is an OGAE ROW member who has covered Finland 2009)

07 – NA NA HEY (probably the same in English)

Composer and performer – Lokka Vox

(Totally unknown)

08 – IETS OM IN THE GLO (Something to believe in)

Composer – Mynhardt Smit, Performer – Len Muller

(Both are totally unknown)

09 – ALS OF NIKS (everything or nothing)

Composer – Stephan van Huyssteen, Performer – NRG

(Composer unknown but maybe he is one member of the group NRG who is quite popular. The brother of one member is Burgerd Botha who was part of Romanz who covered Sweden 2009 and in duet with Zita doing Croatia 1995 – both covers are on the 60th celebration compilations for Vienna)

10 – WIE IS JY (Who are you)

Composer – Willam Loots, Performer – Lee Scott

(Composer unknown but Lee is an OGAE ROW member with covers of Norway 2009, Iceland 2009, Malta 2009, Belgium 2010 and Ukraine 2008)

Speak Your Mind